Monday, February 10, 2014

Venda - 5th Anniversary of Independence - Community Development

These four pretty stamps were issued in Venda to commemorate the 5th Anniversary of Independence.  Venda was a bantustan in northern South Africa, bordering Zimbabwe and is now part of Limpopo province. It was founded as a homeland by the Apartheid Regime for the Venda people, speakers of the Venda language. It was declared self-governing on 1 February 1973,  with elections held later in the year.  Further elections were held in July 1978. The territory was declared independent by the South African government on 13 September 1979 and its residents lost their South African citizenship.  In common with other bantustans, its independence was not recognized by the international community. The first President of Venda, Patrick Mphephu, was also a chief of the Venda people; he was born and lived in Dzanani in Limpopo . His successor, Frank Ravele, was overthrown in a military coup in 1990, after which the territory was ruled by the Council of National Unity. Venda was re-absorbed into South Africa on 27 April 1994.

The stamps focus on Community development and show the different kinds of housing.
(11c) Dzata Ruins (or Dzana ruins) are an archaeological site in Dzanani in the Makhado municipality, Vhembe district, in the north of South Africa. Dzata was the capital of united Venda. Dzata ruins are now one of the national monuments in South Africa.
(25c) Venda Hut appear at first glance to be like the Xhosa to the south, it does possess distinctive features.  The steps and stony site indicate the nature of the terrain, whilst the overhang of the hut roof, supported by timbers provides necessary shade in these tropical zones. The 30c and 45c stamps depict sub-economical and modern homes.

Thank you Maria.

No comments:

Post a Comment