Friday, July 3, 2015

Indian Silver - most successful Åland trotter 1.5.2015

Åland's most successful trotting horse so far was Indian Silver. Out of 61 starts, Indian Silver won 24 races. The trotter features on three-cornered stamp out on 1 May, the day of the first 2015 races at the trotting track Ålandstravet.
Indian Silver had his breakthrough in 1997 at the age of four. This was the year he was housed for professional training at Stig H Johansson stables, one of the most reputed jockeys and trainers in Swedish trotting history.
Indian Silver's track record includes wins in Eliterennen in Gelsenkirchen, Copenhagen Cup and Momarken Grand Prix. Out of 61 starts, Indian Silver won 24, was placed second 12 times and third 7 times. He was in the Swedish Elitloppet final twice. In 2009, Indian Silver died from colic.
Founded in 1936, Ålandstravet - Åland Equestrian Association arranges harness racing, dressage, show jumping and Icelandic horse racing. In 2015, six harness racing events will take place at Ålandstravet.
Thank you Ella.

Thursday, July 2, 2015

President's image of Åland women 8.5.2015

"Åland women" was President Tarja Halonen's choice of theme when asked to contribute to the My Åland stamp series. The presidential stamp is out on 8 May featuring the energetic seafarer Mimmi Widbom.
Serafina Wilhelmina "Mimmi" Widbom was an extraordinary woman of her time being, as she was, a professional seafarer. She worked as cook and chief steward on several of Åland shipowner Gustaf Erikson's ships in the early 1900s. Mimmi Widbom rounded Cape Horn eight times and she made her last voyage as active sailor in 1943.
President Tarja Halonen is the third President of Finland to participate in Åland Post stamp series My Åland, which offers celebrities with a connection to Aland an opportunity to illustrate their opinion of the Aland province and personal view of Aland. In 2004, President Mauno Koivisto's stamp was issued, and President Martti Ahtisaari's stamp appeared in 2009. 

Thank you Ella.

Wednesday, July 1, 2015

EUROPA 2015 - Old Toys

This year's (2015) Europa stamp from Åland was issued on 8 May2015 on the theme Old toys. On the stamp we see a spirited, little monkey with a colourful drum, a classic windup toy from the middle of last century.

The toy monkey on the stamp belongs to Ålander Marcus Quarnström. Two similar toy monkeys are also in his possession: one, he used to play with as a child; the other belonged to his mother. The toy monkey featured on the stamp was, however, purchased at the Lions Club annual flea market in Mariehamn and is of unknown origin.
The toy monkey stamp is also the second issue of an Åland series associating to the twelve signs of the Chinese zodiac. The first issue in the series, the engraved Åland sheep issue, was released prior to the Year of the Sheep in 2015. 2016 is the Year of the Monkey.

Thank you Ella.

Tuesday, June 30, 2015

King of Åland Julius Sundblom - 150th Birth Anniversary

No other individual has played a similarly important role for modern, autonomous Åland as Julius Sundblom (1865-1945), also known as the "King of Åland". On 22 June 2015, Åland Post commemorated his 150th birthday with the issue of a stamp.
In the early 1900s, the world situation was unstable with ongoing wars and revolutions. The turbulent times made the people in Åland turn to the old mother country Sweden in the west. Subsequently, Julius Sundblom became the leader of the Åland Movement. At the time, he was one of the leading figures in Åland as founder of the only local newspaper and member of the Diet of Finland.
The dream of reuniting Åland with Sweden never came true, however; in 1921, the newly founded League of Nations presented a compromise that Åland become a self-governed, demilitarized province of Finland with international guarantees to protect the Swedish language and culture. Dan Nordman, history teacher and Julius Sundblom specialist, believes that it was at the time of defeat that Sundblom demonstrated his greatness.
"Despite the blow, Sundblom didn't think of starting a countermovement or try to sabotage the decision. Instead, he went all in to reunite Åland and make the best of the situation; to develop the autonomy as far as possible".
Thank you Ella.

Saturday, June 27, 2015

The 2015 Southeast Asian Games (28th SEA Games) 5.6.2015

The Southeast Asian Games (SEA Games) once again return to Singapore in 2015, after a 22-year long hiatus. The 28th SEA Games will be held from 5th-16th June 2015, with the Singapore Sports Hub as the main venue for the Games.
Designed by graphic designer Wong Wui Kong, SingPost said the 28th SEA Games stamp issue will be a treasured memento for sports enthusiasts and stamp collectors.  
The 2015 Southeast Asian Games, officially known as the 28th Southeast Asian Games (or simply 28th SEA Games), was a Southeast Asian multi-sport event hosted by the city-state of Singapore. It was the fourth time the country had hosted the games and the first time since 1993. The games were held from 5 to 16 June 2015, although several events had commenced from 29 May 2015. About 4370 athletes from 11 participated nations competed in the Games, with 402 events in 36 sports featured in the Games.
The 2015 Southeast Asian Games used a mix of new, existing and temporary venues. Given the city-state's compact size, most venues were pre-existing public-sporting facilities located in the suburban heartlands which will revert to public use after the games. No major retrofitting work were done in most venues as most had been used to host major multi-disciplinary events such as the 2010 Youth Olympic Games.
At the centre-piece of the activities was the Singapore Sports Hub which was completed in mid-2014. Incorporating the new 55,000-seat national stadium, it hosted most of the events.
A games village was not built. Instead, a "village in the city" concept saw athletes and officials housed in 20 hotels in downtown Singapore. Besides being physically near to the Singapore Sports Hub, it was hoped that it will add vibe to the city and reduce post-games costs in converting a dedicated games village to other uses.