Saturday, November 3, 2012

The University of Iceland

The University of Iceland (Háskóli Íslands) (10.00Kr) is a public research university in Reykjavík, Iceland, and the country's oldest and largest institution of higher education. Founded in 1911, it has grown steadily from a small civil servants' school to a modern comprehensive university, providing instruction for about 14,000 students in twenty-five faculties. Subjects covered include social sciences, humanities, medicine, natural sciences, engineering and teacher education. It has a campus concentrated around Suðurgata street in central Reykjavík, with additional facilities located in nearby areas as well as in the countryside.  
The stamps on the minisheet on the FDC portrays Benedict Sveinson (1.00 Kr) and Bjorn M. Olsen (1.40Kr). These two gentlemen were associated with the University for many years. These stamps and the FDC were issued to commemorate 50 Years of the University of Iceland.
Benedict Sveinson was a member of Parliament from 1861 until his death, a total of 38 years in 22 assemblies. The seven assemblies, he was president of either lower division or the combined Assembly.He played a very active role in the independence of Iceland and was for many years one of the main political leaders of his country.
Bjorn M. Olsen - ( Bjorn Magnusson Olsen ) - ( 14 July 1850 – 16 January 1919 ) was a Member of Parliament , the first dean of the University of Icelandand a professor in the Icelandic grammar and cultural history since 1911.

No comments:

Post a Comment