Tuesday, March 1, 2016

VATICAN CITY STATE - Popes during 1929 to 1979

The four stamps on this FDC depict a view of Vatican City (50), and portray three Popes during the period 1929 to 1979. The other three stamps comprising the full set of 7 stamps portray three other popes who were leading the Papacy during the period 1929 to 1979.
(70) Pope Saint John XXIII ( born Angelo Giuseppe Roncalli,  (25 November 1881 – 3 June 1963) reigned as Pope from 28 October 1958 to his death in 1963 and was canonized on 27 April 2014. 
(120) Pope Paul VI   born Giovanni Battista Enrico Antonio Maria Montini (26 September 1897 – 6 August 1978), reigned as Pope from 21 June 1963 to his death in 1978. 
Pope John Paul I  born Albino Luciani (17 October 1912 – 28 September 1978), served as Pope from 26 August 1978 to his sudden death 33 days later. His reign is among the shortest in papal history, resulting in the most recent Year of Three Popes, the first to occur since 1605.
(150) Pope Saint John Paul II born Karol Józef Wojtyła (18 May 1920 – 2 April 2005), served as Pope from 1978 to 2005. He is referred to by Catholics as St. John Paul the Great, especially in naming institutions.
He was elected by the second Papal conclave of 1978, which was called after Pope John Paul I, who was elected in August after the death of Pope Paul VI, died after thirty-three days. 

Thank you Merja.

No comments:

Post a Comment