Sunday, June 19, 2011

Cyprus – Commonwealth Day 1983 14.3.1983

The Commonwealth is a free association of 46 countries in all five continents. They belong to different religions, languages, races and cultures. The member-countries strongly believe that their interests are best served through common action and cooperation. The pursuits and ideals are incorporated in the Declaration of Commonwealth Principles. The Heads of the member-countries, as well as their Ministers, meet and discuss various national and international problems. Cyprus became a member-state in 1961. Commonwealth Day is an international event celebrated by all member-states on the second Monday of March. Member-states are (1983): Antigua & Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Britain, Canada, Cyprus, Dominica, Fiji, The Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Malta, Mauritius, Nauru, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Western Samoa, Zambia, Zimbabwe.
This FDC and the stamps on it were issued by Cyprus to commemorate the Commonwealth Day on 14th March 1983. The Details of the four stamps on the FDC are (a) The Cyprus Forest Industries Ltd. - The Cyprus Forest Industries Ltd. started operating in 1974. This company played a leading role in the salvage of timber from the forests burned by the Turks in 1974. Its products are for local user and for export. (b) 'Ikarios and those who were the first to drink wine' "Ikarios and those who were the first to drink wine" (end of 3rd century A.D.), one of the mosaics in the "House of Dionysus" in Kato Paphos. Ikarios, following Dionysus' instructions, produced wine and offered it to people. (c) Traditional national dances - A free composition of 4 dancers wearing traditional national dresses. The dances were presented in the old theatre of Curium during the First Commonwealth Film and Television Festival, which was held in Cyprus in 1980. And finally, (d) The Royal Exhibition Building in Melbourne, Australia -The Royal Exhibition Building in Melbourne, Australia, where the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting was held in 1981. My Dear Friend Merja gave me this FDC.

No comments:

Post a Comment