Saturday, April 1, 2017

The 1978 FIFA World Cup

The 1978 FIFA World Cup.
This lovely miniature sheet issued by Argentina to commemorate The 1978 FIFA World Cup in Football was given to me by Mr. Mauricio Poulsen The Championship was held in Argentina between 1 and 25 June at the Estadio Monumental Stadium, popularly known as the River Plate Stadium. This World Cup was the 11th staging of the FIFA World Cup.

The 1978 World Cup was won by Argentina who beat the Netherlands 3–1 at River Plate's home stadium Estadio Monumental in the Argentine capital of Buenos Aires after extra time in the final. This win was the first World Cup title for Argentina, who became the fifth team (after Uruguay, Italy, England and West Germany), to be both hosts and world champions. Argentina, the Netherlands and Brazil were the gold, silver and bronze medalists respectively. Iran and Tunisia made their first appearances in the finals. This was also the last World Cup tournament to use the original inclusion of 16 teams, only 15 teams (plus the host, who automatically qualified) had been allowed to qualify since the first World Cup in 1930 (the reigning title holders also received automatic qualification from 1934 through 2002); for the next World Cup in Spain, FIFA expanded that tournament to 24 teams.
The official match ball was the Adidas Tango.
Thank you Mr. Mauricio Poulsen.

No comments:

Post a Comment