Saturday, October 29, 2016

The Treaty of Aix-la-Chapelle or Aachen 29.6.1968

The Treaty of Aix-la-Chapelle or Aachen ended the war of Devolution between France and Spain. It was signed on 2 May 1668 in Aachen(French: Aix-la-Chapelle). Spain acceded on 7 May 1669.
The treaty was mediated and guaranteed by the Triple Alliance of England, the Dutch Republic and Sweden at the first Congress of Aix-la-Chapelle. France was forced to abandon its war against the Spanish Netherlands.

No comments:

Post a Comment