Wednesday, December 16, 2015

150 Years of The National Horticultural Society of France 23.4.1977

The National Horticultural Society of France (Société nationale d‍'horticulture de France, or SNHF) is a horticultural society founded in 1827 by Louis-Étienne Héricart de Thury. Headquartered in Paris, it comprises specialized departments which organize conferences, themed journeys and garden visits, and exhibitions.

The Société d’Horticulture de Paris was founded on 11 June 1827 on the initiative of Vicomte Héricart de Thury to unite enthusiasts who wanted to exchange ideas and cultivate exotic species. In 1835 the organization received royal recognition and became the Société Royale d’Horticulture. A second, similar organizations was formed, and was named Société Nationale d’Horticulture de la Seine.
Under the presidency of the Duc de Morny the two merged in 1854, taking the nameSociété Impériale Centrale d’Horticulture, with its headquarters on 84 Rue de Grenelle, in Paris's 7th arrondissement of Paris since 1860; the organization took the current name in 1885.

No comments:

Post a Comment