Thursday, June 11, 2015

The Victoria Cross Awardees of Australia 22.1.2015

The Victoria Cross is the highest honour that can be bestowed for acts of valour “in the presence of the enemy”. Keith Payne VC OAM (b. 1933) received his Victoria Cross under the imperial honours system in 1970 for “conspicuous gallantry” in Vietnam.
In 1991 the Victoria Cross for Australia was instituted and subsequently awarded to the four other Legends for acts including “conspicuous gallantry” during the conflict in Afghanistan: Mark Donaldson VC (b. 1979) in 2009, Ben Roberts-Smith VC MG (b. 1978) in 2011, Dan Keighran VC (b. 1983) in 2012 and Cameron Baird VC MG (1981–2013) in 2014. Cameron Baird, who received the Victoria Cross for Australia posthumously, is the 100th Australian to be awarded a Victoria Cross. He has been honoured as an Australian Legend as a mark of respect to his courage and to that of all 100 VC recipients.
Thank you Merja for these wonderful maxicards featuring these brave men of Australia.

No comments:

Post a Comment