Monday, November 25, 2013

Mount Rushmore National Memorial

The 3¢ blue green U.S stamp on this cover commemorated the 25th anniversary of the Mount Rushmore National Memorial on 11th August 1952. The stamp was released in the city of Keystone, SD.

Mount Rushmore National Memorial is a gigantic sculpture carved into a granite cliff called Mount Rushmore. This cliff is located in the Black Hills of South Dakota, about 25 miles from Rapid City, South Dakota. The sculpture shows the faces of four American Presidents: George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln, and Theodore Roosevelt. Mount Rushmore National Memorial is said to represent the first 150 years of American history.

Gutzon Borglum (1867-1941) designed the memorial. In 1927, Borglum began guiding 400 workers using drills and dynamite in shaping the sculpture. After Borglum’s death in 1941, his son, Lincoln, supervised the completion of the monument. This was accomplished several years later.

Each President’s granite sculpture is about 60 feet high – equivalent to a five-story building. The memorial rises more than 500 feet over the valley, which adds to its dominating impression. Mount Rushmore National Memorial is a very popular tourist destination.

Thank you Merja for this lovely cover.

No comments:

Post a Comment