Monday, July 29, 2013

Conference on Security and Co-operation in Europe held in Helsinki

The Helsinki AccordsHelsinki Final Act, or Helsinki Declaration was the final act of the Conference on Security and Co-operation in Europe held in Helsinki, Finland, during July and August 1, 1975. Thirty-five states, including the USA, Canada, and most European states except Albania and Andorra, signed the declaration in an attempt to improve relations between the Communist bloc and the West. The Helsinki Accords, however, were not binding as they did not have treaty status.
The Accords' "Declaration on Principles Guiding Relations between Participating States" (also known as "The Decalogue") enumerated the following 10 points:
  1. Sovereign equality, respect for the rights inherent in sovereignty.
  2. Refraining from the threat or use of force
  3. Inviolability of frontiers.
  4. Territorial integrity of States
  5. Peaceful settlement of disputes
  6. Non-intervention in internal affairs
  7. Respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms, including the freedom of thought, conscience, religion or belief
  8. Equal rights and self-determination of peoples.   
  9. Co-operation among States
  10. Fulfillment in good faith of obligations under international law.   
Most of these articles were followed in the breach rather than in fact. European history from 1975 to 1989 was witness to this utter farce.

The miniature sheet on this cover was issued by Bulgaria in 1974 commemorating the Conference on Security and Co-operation in Europe. 

Thank youMerja for this memorable FDC.

No comments:

Post a Comment