Thursday, March 24, 2011

Malaysia – Suzuki Cup 2010

The 2010 AFF Cup, sponsored by Suzuki and officially named the 2010 AFF Suzuki Cup, took place on December 1–29, 2010. Indonesia and Vietnam hosted the preliminary stage from 1 to 7 December for Group A and 2 to 8 December for Group B. The semi-finals were played home and away with the first legs on 15 and 16 December 2010, and the second legs on 18 and 19 December 2010. The final was played over two legs on 26 December 2010 and 29 December 2010. Indonesia appeared in their fourth final while the Philippines qualified for the semi-finals for the first time under the management of Simon McMenemy. Malaysia subsequently won their first ever title since they first appeared in the final in the inaugural edition, beating Indonesia 4-2 on aggregate in the finals. Malaysia became the first nation to win the AFF Cup (including tournaments held under earlier formats), despite losing two games in the tournament (both to Indonesia). This nice FDC with the lovely commemorative stamps was sent to me by Budin.

No comments:

Post a Comment