Saturday, January 22, 2011

1991 Ice Hockey World Championships 1.3.1991

The Ice Hockey World Championships are an annual event organized by the International Ice Hockey Federation. The 1991 Ice Hockey World Championships took place in Finland 19 April - 4 May. The games were played in Turku, Helsinki and Tampere. The main venue was Turkuhalli. Eight teams took part, with each team playing each other once. The four best teams then played each other once more. This was the 55th World Championships, and at the same time was the 66th and last Ice Hockey European Championships. Sweden became world champions for the fifth time, and the Soviet Union won their 27th European title. In the European Championships, only matches between European teams were counted towards scoring.
They were preceded by the European Championship’s which were held from 1910 to 1932, and decided at the 1920 Summer Olympics for the first time. Subsequently ice hockey featured at the Winter Olympics, where the World Championship was decided when the two events occurred concurrently. The last time the World Championships were decided during the Olympic Games was at the 1968 Winter Olympics. Thank you Ella.

1 comment:

  1. Hi! You have a wonderful blog.
    Visit mine to see the beautiful stamps, FDCs, coins, post cards, etc at Lovely Stamp Blog.
    Would love to swap too?