Saturday, November 6, 2010

New Zealand – 100 Years of Maori Rugby 9.6.2010

In this new stamp release, NZ Post pays tribute to the players, coaches, administrators and supporters who have taken New Zealand Maori rugby through the decades, overcoming challenges to emerge stronger and more relevant than ever.
This year sees 100 years since an official New Zealand Māori side 1st took the field. The following from the NZRU: New Zealand Māori made a winning start to its rich and successful history when the first official New Zealand Māori side met and defeated a Rotorua sub-union team 100 years ago today.
That encounter, played in Rotorua and won 25-5 by New Zealand Māori, launched the team on a Century of rugby that would see them play 429 times for 297 wins and only 109 losses, with 23 drawn matches. Those results included 58 wins over international sides against 30 losses and five draws.
Try-scorers in that historic first match included H Harrison (Thames Valley), C Tipene (Otago), R Dansey (Otago) and Southland’s Billy Stead. The team was captained by Alex Takarangi. The FDC and the minisheet were given to me by My dear Madhavi.

No comments:

Post a Comment